Advisory Board

Vincent Algar B.Sc. (Hons), MAusIMM

Mr Vincent Algar is a geologist by profession with over 27 years’ experience in the mining industry, spanning underground and open cut mining operations, greenfields exploration, project development and mining services in Western Australia and Southern Africa. Since 2015 Mr Algar has been Managing Director of Australian Vanadium Ltd (ASX: AVL) and is responsible for advancing the company’s high-grade Australian Vanadium Project in Western Australia.  Mr Algar was instrumental in the launch of VSUN Energy as a subsidiary of AVL to develop a vertical integration strategy to incorporate energy storage markets through the growth in uptake of the vanadium redox flow battery.

Mr Algar represents both AVL and VSUN Energy to the mining, financial and energy markets within Australia and has a strong understanding of the technical and financial aspects of the energy and capital market.

Nathan Coad

Nathan Coad has over 15 years of experience with the development, manufacture and integration of electrochemical energy storage products. This includes; Zinc Bromide flow & gel batteries, Hydrogen fuel cells and various Lithium-Ion battery chemistries. Nathan has an academic background in Mechanical Engineering and Energy Physics.

Nathan started his career as an oil & gas engineer before retraining in Energy Physics and working as a Fuel Cell Test Engineer within Murdoch University (Western Australia). He then spent 10 years with Zinc Bromine Battery (ZBB) Energy Corporation in Australia and America as a Product Development Manager. During this role Nathan led the design, development and commercialisation of new flow battery technologies and related power electronics products. Following this, he developed, integrated and installed industrial Lithium-Ion energy storage systems for power utility and C&I clients.

Since 2017 Nathan has been the Chief Technology Officer at Gelion, a spin-off from the University of Sydney, developing new battery chemistries and products. Gelion’s primary focus is gelated Zinc Bromide batteries for energy shifting.

Anthony Price, Director Swanbarton Limited

Anthony has worked in the energy storage sector for more than 20 years, managing the commercial development of a novel type of flow battery with National Power and Innogy.

He founded Swanbarton in 2003, using his knowledge of a broad range of storage technologies and understanding of the commercial framework for applying  energy storage to  power systems to develop a company which can  offer services to developers  of energy storage products, systems and services. Swanbarton helps clients from the battery industry develop and market their products for the emerging stationary battery energy storage market.  He has been personally involved in the initiation and development of several large-scale battery projects.

He was a director of the USA’s Electricity Storage Association for five years and was the founding chairman of the UK’s Electricity Storage Network. He has extensive contacts in the flow battery industry, and he initiated and organises the popular International Flow Battery Forum, an international annual conference covering the research, development and use of all types of flow batteries. 

He has published papers and articles on both the specific aspects of battery and energy storage as well as promoting the need for an increased role for energy storage in today’s power systems.  He maintains  an interest in the development and deployment of flow batteries and longer duration energy storage. 

Anthony has a degree in Engineering from the University of Cambridge. He lives and works in Wiltshire, in the United Kingdom. 

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christina Roth

Christina Roth is a trained materials scientist and the Chair of Electrochemical Process Engineering. Having obtained her academic degrees from the Technical University of Darmstadt and after a post-doctoral stay at Liverpool University, UK, she began her career as junior group leader at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). In 2012, she became professor at the Freie Universität Berlin, before taking up her present appointment at the Faculty of Engineering Sciences at the University of Bayreuth in 2019.

Her research interests comprise methodical and materials development for electrochemical energy technologies, such as fuel cells and batteries. She has co-authored more than 100 publications in the field and received some prestigious awards, such as the Carl Wagner medal of excellence in electrochemical engineering and the Adolf-Messer prize. She is a member of the steering committee of the GDCh, Fachgruppe Elektrochemie, and editorial board member of ChemElectroChem.